Continuing attack after 2D

Feb 23, 2018
I'm still learning to use BestCow's rope, and I think I've gotten a handle on the 236C > 2D rope combo, but I have a problem. whenever I successfully use 2D, I'm not able to continue my attack, and I usually get counter-hit if I try anything. Has anyone had success in this area?

Svierrod

Backers' Beta Tester
Backers' Beta Tester
Feb 4, 2016
I just checked in training mode. It looks like there is no point after :2::D: connects where the opponent is vulnerable to anything until they recover from the knockdown. In short, connecting with :2::D: immediately ends your combo.

It's more of a setup move than a combo tool, honestly. Normal :D: is good for building magic and keeping a combo going, while :2::D: is good for building magic and ending a combo. You're +36 if you still have juggle decay remaining and the hard knockdown activates (if they flash red, you're golden). That's 36 frames (just over 1/2 a second) where you can move around and your opponent is still getting up off the ground. You want to act quickly. If you're getting counterhit, you're attacking too late. You want to time whatever attack you're doing so it hits them immediately after they stand up, but not any sooner than that. Here's a quick primer on some things you might want to do when they're getting up :

• :2::A: on them. It hits Low, so if they're expecting something crazy, this can catch them off guard. If they block it, pause for a split second and either hit :2::A: again, or sneak a throw in there.
  • Throw them. It sets up exactly the same situation, where you've got a hard knockdown and can set up another mix-up. Not a bad option at all.
  • :6::B: them. Most people hold :1: when getting up from a knockdown, and :6::B: plows right through that. Not as good as hops, but it's real easy to do.