List of basic maneuvers / mechanics?

Hybrid

Crowdfund Backer
Crowdfund Backer
Feb 3, 2016
I'm not new to fighting games, but I only just started playing on Feb 22 and didn't really watch many streams or interviews that might have explained the mechanics specific to TFH. Such as:

How do you perform a push block? (Knocking the opponent away after blocking)

Sometimes when a character blocks, they flash white for a frame or two. What does that mean?

Are there any specific rules on when a throw attempt will connect or whiff based on the opponent's actions (assuming you're in range)?

Would someone be so kind as to explain these and any other basic mechanics pleeeease? :)

Snivian Moon

How I mine for combo?
Backers' Beta Tester
I'm by no means an expert, but I will try my best to answer as much as I can!

How do you perform a push block? (Knocking the opponent away after blocking)
This one I know for sure: While blocking, press :atkatk:. That'll push away any aggression!

Sometimes when a character blocks, they flash white for a frame or two. What does that mean?
There are a variety of states in which a blocking character will flash, that I'm aware of, so I'm not sure which one is on your mind. If you block at the last moment, you can essentially do something called a "Just Defend" maneuver - Which blocks the attack and gives you some meter, I believe. It may also reduce chip damage? This is great when the opponent is spamming projectiles, because with proper timing, you can turn that into your advantage.

The Cross Canter also makes your character flash on block, though it is usually green and always is followed by a counter-attack.

I fear I might be overlooking the specific instance you're thinking of, but hopefully this information was slightly useful despite that!

Are there any specific rules on when a throw attempt will connect or whiff based on the opponent's actions (assuming you're in range)?